Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

💎 24-karat Magic in the Air

get a front-row ticket to fun at R&B skate night

I spent the recesses of my youth learning the cabbage patch, the kid-n-play, and the running man. When I got to high school, we would blast the latest R&B song through the sound system before our sporting events. But the fun was cut short.

Freshman year, we were supposed to have an all-school dance, but because of gun violence, it was canceled. It would take me twelve more years and a trip to Atlanta to live the R&B DJ'd night of my dreams on the seventeenth floor of the W hotel in August, the tropical wind blowing until two a.m. when the friend that I was with finally pulled me out of the pool to head home.

I spent six months researching roller rinks, and the main factor in their success, or lack thereof, was how vital music is to the experience.

Part of that research involved screening two documentaries that left me feeling like my gut had been punched. I wanted to puke, and I couldn't stop crying.

UNITED SKATES + Roller Dreams are the documentation of joy cut short. Stifled. Demolished and sold off. Left having to fly across the country to find it again.

On one of my first community nights in Santa Monica, I met a local, Kamau. As I talked to him, I could feel myself lighting up and hanging on his every word. Interestingly enough, he said that before the COVID quarantine, he loved to come to the Third Street Promenade because it was three blocks of safe streets for him and his friends.

UNITED SKATES Sundays is a pilot project funded and supported by Art in the Alleyways. But they are only our first sponsor. Last night, we were able to find a few more.

And if you come to our next event, even just by showing up to watch and share it on your socials, you can be a supporter, too.

Santa Monica Art District

@artinthealleyways

Santa Monica’s Outdoor Roller Rink
🪩 O P E N D A I L Y 🪩
1324 Fifth Street
Santa Monica, CA 90401
Grab ticks👇🏼

www.allskateswelcome.com



R&B Sundays in Santa Monica hosted by United Skates Documentary co-star Phelicia Wright @onlyonephe

with DJ BERT @westcoastbacktocali

Don’t miss out on this fantastic evening of skating, music, and community spirit. Grab your skates, bring your friends and join us for an unforgettable evening. 

Sunday Sessions
Regular Admission
august 25 🌴september 1 🌴september 8
4 to 8pm

Roll at Santa Monica Lot 27

5th & Arizona
Get your ticks 👇🏼
@artinthealleyways 🛼

Barry Snell Phelicia Wright

Downtown Santa Monica’s Placemaking Director

Jeremy Ferguson

Green Goddess Pedicabs JaWonda + Bella 💛

Videos + Photos + Words by Mandy Zelinka

Discussion about this podcast

Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Recent Posts